when college infuriates…

Today I have had a blocked seminar in college. The course’s title was “Filmusic”, a topic I actually really enjoy. Unfortunately, I couldn’t enjoy it. The prof, an actor, didn’t seem to have any clue about the course’s topic, for he talked about anything but filmmusic.

But maybe I’m being too harsh right now. He DID talk about music .- a little, but still he was rather more concerned about what went to characters’ minds, which camera movement has been used and which romms/ spaces we are in. Not that I wouldn’t care about that, but for a course titled “Filmmusic” I expect something more…musically.

All he talks about is “is this clue/ sound effect (yes, he takes every sound effect as music)/ dialogue (I won’t comment on that one) diegetic or non-diegetic, or both?” Don’t get me wrong, this is kinda interesting, BUT IT IS NOT PART OF THE COURSE. Furthermore, this topic i keeps talking about is something you are tought in your early terms, and is also to be learned in two lessons maximum.

I’ve already done two courses in filmusik in musicology a few years ago, and it was much better than the crap I had to endure today. Unfortunately I have to get through with it til the end, for I need the grade. But honestly, is it worth it?

This entry was posted in Personal stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to when college infuriates…

  1. Carina Go says:

    I mean, I can imagine that aspects like space or the characters’ feelings do have a crucial impact on the score chosen as there should be some kind of interrelation… But that connection should be made explicit and open for discussion…

    Is there an opportunity to give anonymous feedback at the end of the term?

Leave a Reply

